Main Menu

Steve Stephen, Shashank Addagarla & Dhruv Rohatgi Named 2017 National Merit $2500 Scholarship Winners

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced Steve Stephen of Meadows School, Shashank Addagarla and Dhruv Rohatgi, both of Davidson Academy, the winners of this year’s National Merit $2500 Scholarship.

Steve, son of Joseph and Alphonsa Stephen, is planning to pursue a career in Medicine at the University of Rochester.  Shashank is going to pursue a career in Economics and Dhruv is planning to join Academia.  The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects, studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation by a high school official.

NMSC finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2500 Scholarships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *