Main Menu

Jay Parikh, Eshaan Vakil, and Opalina Vetrichelvan Named Asian Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Winners

In a quest for educational excellence among the local Asian community, the Asian Chamber of Commerce has announced three Indian American high school graduates, Jay Parikh, Eshaan Vakil, and Opalina Vetrichelvan, winner of the 2020 Annual Scholarship.  All three Indian American students are graduating valedictorians from Ed. W. Clark High School.

Jay Parikh

Jay Parikh is joining the University of Central Florida to pursue a degree in Biomedical Sciences. At Clark, AP scholar Parikh was the President of the Fantasy Football, Club Vice President of activities for DECA.  Additionally, Parikh is a recipient of the National Merit Scholarship funded by Walgreen Corporation.

Eshaan Vakil

Valedictorian and Harvard bound Eshaan Vakil is planning to pursue an undergraduate in Computer Science, International Relations, and Government.  At Clark, Vakil was the President and Captain of the Varsity Quiz club.  During his years at Clark, Vakil was honored with many national and international awards.  A History enthusiast, Vakil won 3 gold medals, 2 silver medals and 5 bronze medals at the International History Olympiad held at Germany in 2018. Vakil was also the winner of the 2016 International History Olympiad with 7 medals including 1 gold.

Opalina Vetrichelvan, also from Clark High and valedictorian is joining the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) to pursue a degree in Computer Sciences and Economics. At Clark, Ms. Vetrichelvan was the Vice President of Speech & Debate team, and President and Founder of Letters for Change.  She was named a finalist in the National INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair and named a winner of the $2500 National Merit Scholarship.

This year, the Las Vegas Asian Chamber of Commerce will award their annual scholarship to 15 Asian students from Southern Nevada.  The annual scholarship banquet was scheduled for July 23rd, however, due to the ongoing pandemic situation the chamber had to cancel the award luncheon.  All the winners will get a check for $2,000 for their academic and extra-curricular achievements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *